Board Members

The SATA-IO Board of Directors currently consists of nine representatives, as specified by SATA bylaws. Board member duties include establishing policies and procedures and overseeing the activities of each Work Group. Regular meetings of the Board of Directors are held bi-weekly.

Click on the images below for more information about each Board member.

Curtis Stevens, Western Digital
Board of Directors and President

Curtis Stevens has been working in the disk drive industry for over 20 years standardizing new technologies. In the 1990’s Curtis helped standardize Booting from CD-ROMs, Booting from many floppy technologies, booting from 1394, and booting from USB. Curtis is currently the technical editor for the ATA/ATAPI Command Set series of standards, the UAS series of standards, and the EDD (legacy BIOS) series of standards. Curtis is currently employed by WD and is responsible for Standardization and internal feature specification.

Jim Hatfield, Seagate Technology
Board of Directors and Vice-President

Jim Hatfield, Sr. Staff Firmware Engineer for Seagate Technology, is an active leader in storage standards development. For SATA-IO, he currently chairs the Digital and Technical Integration working groups. Jim is vice-chair of T13 and is the chair of a TCG working group. Jim is an active and vocal participant in T10 (SAT), IEEE 1667 and other industry forums. Jim joined Seagate in 2002, to develop firmware and to promote and extend industry standards.

After earning a B.A in Math and Computer Science from the University of Colorado (Boulder) in 1977, Jim has mainly worked in the storage industry. He began with writing a standalone OS on a mini-computer to emulate an IBM mainframe, and device drivers to go with it (printer, clock, CRT, card reader, etc.) and tests for mainframe disk drives. Jim pioneered the development of firmware and register- and bus-level hardware simulations of mainframe SSD, disk and RAID controllers. In addition, he wrote general applications for management and created a functional DBMS before they were common-place. He and a partner created an OS that emulated a major IBM OS that ran in a mainframe OS virtual machine and controlled a mainframe automated tape library. With the dawn of PCs, Jim transitioned to translating one *NIX flavor to others, and translating one SQL dialect to others. After longing to return to the storage industry, Jim found a new career writing firmware for ATAPI and SCSI tape drives before joining Seagate to write ATA disk firmware.

Jeremiah Tussey, Microsemi
Board of Directors and Treasurer

Jeremiah Tussey
Microsemi Corporation
Sr. Product Marketing Manager (Alliances)
Enterprise Storage and Communications (ESC) Group

Jeremiah Tussey is the senior product marketing manager of alliances for Microsemi’s Enterprise Storage and Communications Group. Jeremiah manages Microsemi’s vendor alliances for 6Gb/s SATA, 12Gb/s SAS, 24Gb/s SAS, PCIe-3.0, and PCIe-4.0 based products, and associated involvement in industry standards and events related to OpenPower, OpenCompute, PCI-SIG, NVMe, SAS, and SATA-IO, as well as key ecosystem-enabling vendors. He is also a current board member at-large and active contributor to the SCSI Trade Association.

Prior to joining Microsemi in 2016, Jeremiah worked as a senior hardware applications engineer, transitioning into senior alliance marketing manager at PMC up until the acquisition by Microsemi in early 2016. Previously, Jeremiah also worked as a senior hardware applications engineer at Maxim Integrated and Vitesse Semiconductor (also now Microsemi), before subsequent acquisitions. In total, he has over 16 years of experience in the storage industry, with focuses on SCSI, SATA, PCIe and Fibre Channel products.

Jeremiah received his bachelor’s in electrical engineering from the University of Colorado.

John Schadegg, Marvell
Director and Secretary

Bio and picture coming soon!

Knut Grimsrud, Intel
Board of Directors

Knut is an Intel Fellow and leads an R&D group responsible for developing new mainstream storage innovations for Intel platforms. His team develops the core technology behind Intel’s new high-performance solid-state drive (SSD), as well as contributes to the definition and evolution of several storage interfaces including ONFi (Open NAND Flash Interface), NVMHCI (Non-Volatile Memory Host Controller Interface), and Serial ATA.

Knut joined Intel in 1993 as a hardware engineer in the Intel Architecture Labs where his primary focus was on improving the storage performance of Intel’s entry into the standard high-volume server segment. His focus transitioned to mainstream storage optimization techniques where his contributions included disk reorganization techniques for improved application launch performance. Knut then drove definition of the Serial ATA disk drive interface standard and its subsequent evolutions and enhancements, which continues today. His current primary focus is on solid state storage technologies including approaches to make efficient use of NAND flash in the platform and new technologies for high-performance NAND-based SSDs.

He received his bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D in electrical engineering from Brigham Young University. He also holds 31 U.S. patents and has served as chairman of the board of directors for both the Serial ATA International Organization (SATA-IO) and the Open NAND Flash Interface organization (ONFi).

Kevin Marks, Dell
Board of Directors

Kevin Marks is a member of SATA-IO Board of Directors and participates in SATA-IO’s Digital and Cable and Connector technical working groups. Kevin is a Technology Strategist in the Office of the CTO at Dell, where he is responsible for technology strategy in the area of enterprise storage. Kevin has been in the storage industry for over 15 years. His work at Dell has focused on a number of technologies and standards including SAS/SATA, object storage and SSD. Kevin holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Louisiana State University.